Alexa Victoriano elected new student trustee for LACCD

by Marco Barajas

Alexa Victoriano is the new student trustee for the Los Angeles Community College District. Photo by: Gabriel Islas
Alexa Victoriano is the new student trustee for the Los Angeles Community College District.
Photo by: Gabriel Islas

On May 13, Alexa Victoriano was elected as the 2016/17 Student Trustee for the Los Angeles Community College District. She will be sworn-in on June 8 in a board meeting at the district’s main office.

“When I heard I won, I first called my dad,” Victoriano said. “He was very proud of me but he didn’t understand what it meant, so I had to explain it to him.”

Victoriano, who was born in Torrance and lives in San Pedro, is a first generation child and the first girl in her family to graduate from high school. Her father did not finish school in Mexico, and her brother dropped out of high school.

“If I would have stayed in Mexico, I probably would have five kids and be in an abusive relationship,” Victoriano said. “I would not be able to express myself and be who I want to be. I was always getting in trouble for things that I would do. There really isn’t any women empowerment in Mexico, and it is sad to see.”

Many people identify Victoriano as a very well-rounded person with an extreme work ethic, but she said her life has been the opposite of that. She has been in and out of school, first attending Santa Monica Community College before transferring to Harbor College. Victoriano has dropped out of school many times because of work and having to work overtime many times.

She is currently the Vice President of ASO, Puente, and the Pacific Islander Club. She is also the founder of Model United Natinos, LA Harbor Rotaract, and the Latino Caucus. She is majoring in Communications and Political Science and will be graduating from Harbor College in Spring of 2017.

“I have had a lot of mishaps along the way, and I’m glad I went through them because it has shaped me,” Victoriano said. “I finally have a balance in my life with work, school, and my personal life. I can thank my parents because they let me be who I want to be. I am really never home, they give me a lot of trust.”

She looks to use the same methods that have gotten her where she is today, in her new chapter as Student Trustee. Victoriano wants to fight for opportunities for AB540 students and help students like Jose Alvarez, a CSULB student who was deported in Feb., continue their education without being deported.

“I know it’s going to be hard, and I will receive a lot of backlash by the district, but it doesn’t stop me,” Victoriano said. “They are people that want to educate themselves, just because they are undocumented doesn’t make them different from us.”

She will officially start working for the board on June 10 and will be representing all nine schools in the district.

“I look forward to a good year,” Victoriano said. “I know I have the support of everyone.”

Leave a Reply

